2019 Honorees


(L-R) Gordon Christensen, DDS, MS, Karen Baker and 2019 CDS President Cheryl Watson-Lowry.

Gordon J. Christensen Lecturer Recognition Award

The Gordon J. Christensen Lecturer Recognition Award was established in 1990. The award recognizes Dr. Christensen’s many outstanding contributions to the dental profession and the Midwinter Meeting, and it honors the contributions of the recipient. The award will be acknowledged at the Opening Session of the Midwinter Meeting. the 2019 recipient is Karen Baker, RPh, MS.


(L-R) Program Chair Susan Zelazo-Smith; Toni Preckwinkle, Cook County Board President; Cheryl Watson-Lowry, CDS President; Sharon Lyn-Malinowski, General Chair; Melanie Watson, Communications Chair.

George H. Cushing Award

The George Cushing Award winner will be announced and honored at the Midwinter Meeting. The Cushing Award recognizes those who raise public awareness about the importance of oral health. The Communications Committee of CDS recommends the award winner.  The 2019 Cushing Award recipient is Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle. The award was presented at the Opening Session of the Midwinter Meeting.

vision_award(L-R) Pat Hann, CDS Foundation Chair; Robin Gathman, CDS Foundation Communications Chair; Susan Zelazo-Smith, Program Chair; Ilie Pavel, award recipient; Cheryl Watson-Lowry, CDS President; and Sharon Lyn-Malinowski, General Chair.

CDS Foundation Vision Award

The CDS Foundation Vision Award honors outstanding volunteer achievement. The recipient is a dedicated philanthropist and volunteer who generously supports access to care programs and dental education for the underserved in their community; practices the dental profession with integrity, honesty and truthfulness with commitment to the protection of the public trust; demonstrates altruism in endeavors, meriting the respect of patients, colleagues and the community; and leads and inspires others through a high sense of purpose and dedication.

The 2019 CDS Foundation Vision Award recipient is Ilie Pavel, DDS. The award was presented at the Opening Session of the Midwinter Meeting.